An interesting project with an unconventional output.

Back in my college days, I witnessed my friend Aadhithya Kota, create a set of speakers using the concept of Ruben’s Tube.

The Ruben’s Tube is a physics experiment demonstrating a standing wave. It demonstrates the link between sound pressure and sound waves.

Ever since that day, I have always wondered about the application for the same, till I came across ‘Cymatics’.

Applications

Cymatics is a subset of modal vibrational phenomena. It is a study of wave phenomena that aims at visualising sound frequency using particle displacement. Since it is a relatively new phenomena, it has yet to come to a wider acceptance of application.

Cymatics has a strong influence to help the deaf and hard-of-hearing population get a sensory experience of sound. One such organisation that is aiming to explore these applications is : CymaSpace.

After coming across the open source software and hardware code for the same, I am beginning to again wonder, and willing to again explore, the applications of this, focusing towards turning one sensory experience, into another sensory experience, while keeping the input for both as the same source.

After Marantha Dawkins’ workshop that focused on the artistic trajectory of imagining one 3D space into 2D, and then recreating it into 3D, I’m drawing parallels to explore how the input of something intangible but also very experiential, like sound, could be converted into something tangible, something that provides a different layer to the experience, and address the quality of frequencies to the audience that were far so deprived of it so far.

Here’s the link to the open source file for this, I hope it helps spark ideas amongst my audience here.